Review: The Blue Zones

blue zones

So I’ll begin with a disclaimer: Before I even began reading this book, I sent a copy to my best friend.

I was among the Klamathites that traveled to Portland in November for the Oregon Healthiest State launch. We were introduced to the Blue Zones concept there, and it truly captured my imagination.

Personally, I’m not hoping for a really long life. I’d like to stay at the top of my game for as long as possible and see the next generation adopt a healthier lifestyle.

Many of us heard Tony Buettner begin the Klamath Falls readiness assessment on Monday, and I’m a fan of Mrs. Buettner’s sons. It’s not the fanaticism I reserve for Theodore Roosevelt, John Hay and Robert Benchley, but they’ve done their homework and make a solid case for the nine unifying principles that seem to produce longevity.

What really stands out for me in this work is the insistence that people don’t need to tackle all nine principles at once. Have success with one or two and go from there.

After hearing Tony speak, I’m framing Blue Zones as a family concern. It ties right back into the “family first” ideal. For some people, family means blood relations. Others have a close kinship with those they’ve “adopted” as their own.

For me, I hope I’m not the only one to adopt the Buettners as Klamath’s own. It’s sets us on the path of hanging with the “right tribe”.

Leave a Reply

