It’s a Blue, Blue world out there

trio

I spoke this morning with a new cohort of Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) about their connection to my employing CARES (Child Abuse Response and Evaluation Services) clinic.

No one can bring a room down like I can talking about child abuse. However, I tied their work back to the bettering of our community and the promise and opportunity afforded Klamath through Blue Zones.

When we are living the nine principles, our community will be healthier and safer for our children and elders. I believe that with all my being.

I encouraged the group to read the books, and highly recommend that anyone interested read them in the order I did. “The Blue Zones Solution” meant more to me, because I had the background of “The Blue Zones” and also “Thrive”.

I was super excited reading “Thrive”, because one of the cities profiled was San Luis Obispo, Calif. I know that city’s newspaper sports editor Ashley Conklin, who worked locally at the Herald and News early in his career. He’s an Oregon Duck, just like me, and I adore him.

The people in the CASA cohort had heard a little something about Blue Zones, but were excited to know that the report about Klamath Falls will be released on July 20.

Local CASA director Karri Mirande talked about the exciting vibe associated with last night’s grand opening of the Gaucho Collective, where people can rent space to work on a daily, weekly or monthly basis. The idea behind co-working is sharing the overhead of office space, while being in a creative, collaborative environment.

The Blue principle of “hanging with the right tribe” really speaks to the positive energy radiating from Gaucho. Our Saturday Market is completely about eating a plant-based diet, and there is nothing but positive opportunities surrounding all of the other principles.

Personally, I see my purpose as being the spinster aunt to the Basin. You need something? I’ll help you where I can. You need a Dutch Aunt to give you honest feedback? I’ve got your back. You want to know more about something? I’ll get you what information I can and hook you up with someone to take you further.

Read the books. Start a walking group. Eat your greens. Your spinster aunt wants you around for a long, long time.

Leave a Reply

