Welcome to Klamath: We have purpose

Klamath Falls was recently selected as the first Blue Zones project city in Oregon. Among the Power 9 longevity principles is having purpose in your life, and a few of us were out last week at Third Thursday to find out why local citizens get up in the morning.

The responses included:

To hug Delilah! (a lovely blue-eyed puppy girl)

To take care of my husband

To find out what you’re good at and give it away

Go to work and enjoy the day

‘Cause I don’t want to lay in bed all day

To make the most of each day

To love

To take care of my dog. I love him.

To pee

To see what exciting things will come my way

To live epically

Coffee and to make the world a better place

Do yoga

To breathe

To make the world a better place

To take care of my son, make him smile and live a beautiful day on Earth

To make the most of each day

To eat breakfast, then do my best to be the change I wish to see in the world

To go to work

To enjoy life

Feed my horse

To feed the dogs

To enjoy my day

To run, sail, camp, ride, swim, dive, eat. Live!

To run

To go to church school

To eat breakfast

To annoy my kids!

To make life better

Ride our bikes!

To enjoy my family

To play with my dogs

I’m sleeping in

For my family and my community

Having a purpose and belonging are two of the components of a long and well-lived life. We have that in Klamath in spades.

As for me, my purpose is to be the eccentric spinster aunt who exists to be helpful and intellectually engaged. Spend some time with us, and you’ll want to go Blue, too.

Leave a Reply

