Well, I guess we are all mortal

mom.jpg

The original Valeree Lane in a pose that can only mean: And, what of it? I believe the ring around her neck is actually the string from her straw hat.

The unthinkable has happened and the Unsinkable Molly Brown, otherwise known as Debbie Reynolds, stepped into Eternity.

I’d like to think that it is unlike me to be drawn into a tragedy that is none of my business. However, the Brown movie means a lot in my family. It, and Reynolds, were favorites of my mother’s. My Aunt Carolyn remembers that Mom took her to see the film at a downtown Los Angeles theater. I believe it was Graumann’s Chinese Theater, and Aunt Carolyn has related that the sound system had them believing the flood scene was happening right below their feet. The character made such an impression that my aunt named a chocolate Lab Molly Brown.

I didn’t mentioned that my mother’s maiden name is Brown. There was probably a sense of kinship in the overall appreciation. Reynolds, a Texan just like Mom, was portraying a character who was most likely a distant cousin.

Mom had a strong belief that life would be just like her beloved musicals. If you keep a song in your heart and persevere, you’ll be rewarded in the end. In her lifetime, I thought that was naive. Now, I know I’m rather naive in thinking that people will do the right thing for the appropriate reasons. Only in the screenplay in my head.

Most of us run around acting like we are immortal, assured of another moment, day or year. That’s the most naive behavior of all. No one gets out of this experience alive.

I feel bad for the immediate family and other loved ones who are mourning  Ms. Reynolds and her daughter Carrie Fisher. Loss is an ongoing process. To weather two deaths in the course of 36 hours is heart rending.

My spiritual belief is that we will be reunited with our loved ones in Eternity. For now, the loss of a family icon reminds me that we don’t know how long we’ll be separated before the reunion. For Fisher and Reynolds it was a day. Mom and I are starting our fifth year.

Every day is moving us closer together. Meanwhile, I need to remember that being naive is not a fatal flaw. A lack of faith and hope will kill you before you stop breathing.

Maybe we can take a lesson from the musicals, and greet each day with promise and a song. Just like in Singin’ in the Rain’s Good Morning sequence.

 

Leave a Reply

